The best kind of day

Standard

What a great day yesterday!  Hubby on vacation, so we took the nieces to a working grist mill not too far from here.  Had an education about the mill and covered bridges.  I was glad to learn that the flours and corn ground at this particular mill are non-GMO.  In my garden this year I have grown heirloom/open pollinated varieties of our favorite veggies — tomatoes, beans, corn, potatoes, lettuce, carrots . . . wish I were a better/more knowledgeable gardener.  Should have paid more attention to mom/dad/grandma all those years ago!  At least I’ve had some good lettuce this past spring, and now the tomatoes are coming on; they just need some hot weather (this week should do it) to ripen.  Potato plants look strong; corn was flattened completely about a week ago by strong wind and rain, but most of it has recovered.  I have some pole bean plants climbing up some corn stalks, and some squash (Thelma Sanders type) growing between the corn rows.  This “three sisters” garden is something I wanted to try last year, but the heat and drought made that a bust.  The chickens cranked out lots of eggs yesterday, and the girls loved collecting them.  “Hen fruit” is a pretty reliable crop here, even if I mess up everything else!

4 responses »

  1. It was a fun day indeed! Collecting those eggs is something my mister and I are completely not used to in our daily lives, so it’s always fun to do that here with you:) thanks for the adventures!

  2. It was a fun day indeed! Collecting those eggs is something that my sister and I have never known in our daily lives, so that’s always a blast doing that here with you:) Thanks for the adventures

  3. Yay for starting a blog! Thanks for having the girls over for a few days. They had a blast and learned so many new things. I’m now following your blog by email.

    • I have the girls’ blogs on my favorites tab; want your blog info, too, so I can follow it. You make the coolest cards! And it’s awesome that your daughters think of you as famous in the card-blogging world. We had the best time with the girls! Thank you for sharing them with us. Wish we lived closer so we could see all of you more often.

Leave a Reply

